top of page
Search

Rest Eternal Judy Kaestner 08.26.2019


Judy Kaestner went to be with our Lord yesterday afternoon in the presence of her loving husband, Fr. Jim Kaestner, after a short illness. My heart was broken when I heard the news from our field parish during seminary, Zion Episcopal Church in Oconomowoc, WI. She was not only my iconography teacher, but a mentor as well. She took me into her fold during my formation of becoming a clergy spouse from 2009 - 2012. She delighted in my passion for iconography and allowed my intrusion upon her workshop space as often as I could come, relentless hours in the basement studying, praying, writing and rewriting icons. I still remember the air of the basement, ripe with the pleasant petrichor of the earthy pigments and oils and the warmth from the iron stove that kept the dampness and chill out. Judy led me through an understanding of icons that penetrated my inner being. Often reminding me even now, how lost I would be without it. It was such an honor studying under her from her most personal notes and scripts. She helped me understand not only the outcome of the work, but that the process itself was of most importance in connecting with the divine and increasing my relationship with God. Each step carefully explained so that the symbolism and biblical root was fully understood so that I could carry on this legacy to others.

For those who may not be familiar with icons, at first glance they may appear rather strange, but further observation will reveal various unique qualities. The icon invokes a sense of divinity and attracts the eye of the believer in its own way guides and directs us in prayer. As a form of inspiration, the icon is to the eye the same as music is to the ear; as incense is to the smell; as veneration to the touch; and as Holy Communion to the taste. The intent is to charge all of our senses and guide us toward a higher and spiritual understanding.

Alleluia, Judy! You are now flying with the angels depicted by your very hand in the icons you adored. Rest in peace and thank you for blessing me, until we meet again!


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page